Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

 

Happy Friday, All!

I will give you all a hearty T.G.I.F. on this Friday … St. Patrick’s Day!

I have a tendency to get really silly on days like this with so many sayings, like … “I’m looking over a four leaf clover …” or “Kiss the Blarney Stone!”  I probably don’t have them right but being a native New Yorker, I know a lot about St. Patrick’s Day celebrations and green beer and green clothing and what have you … color it green … like that Leprechaun and Clover!!

So, the first thing I want to do is wish the truly Irish a Happy St. Patrick’s Day.  New York City is a place where many an Irishman and family settled and became a part of the labor force there.  In fact, by 1850, the Irish made up approximately one-fourth of the population in cities like New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Buffalo and Baltimore!  I think that is noteworthy for many reasons … especially to “shore up” the idea that immigrants literally helped to build America … starting on the backs of slaves from Africa and many other groups coming through New York’s Ellis Island who immigrated from Europe.  The Irish left and still hold an integral part of the culture.  I read one fact that during the height of Irish immigration to New York City, there were more Irish people in the City than in Dublin, Ireland!  So … “Get your green on!!”

Spring Breakers are still doing their thing here in Ft. Lauderdale and elsewhere.  I remember when and still take a moment to go out when I can.  My damaged car got towed, since I didn’t want to keep investing in something that I was going to give up anyway when I travel abroad so, I am counting on the luck of the Irish, some good friends, buses and Uber!

Have a great St. Patrick’s Day and a wonderful weekend!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

 

Leave a Reply

