And There You Have It!

Life

Happy Friday, All!

I can’t do without a T.G.I.F.!!  My Creator is so good to me!

Yes, I know that I am a little late today but I had to take care of a few things … and for once in a long time, I woke up late on Friday!!  I do what I do and share what I share … because I care … about ME … and YOUSE!!!

Many of you may know or remember, if you care to, that I got laid off last Friday … at 5 minutes before 5PM!!!  Who does that?!?  Where I used to work … Thank God!  I  know that many things happen in life … even to good people, and some of us think we are “error free” and “free of problems” especially when we see someone else with challenges.  Peace be still ….

Yeah, and I know my writing is very “Bohemian” in style … and that’s the way I like it!  I don’t want it to be like “Ernest Hemingway” in style, ’cause as he has his style … I have mine!  Of course I do my best to keep my English grammar and writing correct, but in case you haven’t noticed, I have my OWN style … and it sometimes includes mistakes!  So be it.  The job I had done for over two years as a telemarketer at their current location in Margate, and over 4 years at the previous location in Boca Raton under the name of Platinum Marketing Group, I figured I at least deserved minimum respect.  Now, I don’t need “love” from the people I work with, although I often develop very strong friendships with some of my co-workers that often last beyond the time we worked together.  The Human Resources person on my most recent position was also the head of quality assurance at the previous job!  You may remember that I mentioned that he couldn’t “sell” so the floor manager, who is a good friend of his since childhood, promoted him to quality assurance and, when they had fired the manager of qa, then promoted this character to manager of qa!  How  nice it is to “know someone” when you can’t do a particular job!!!  I am not impressed with this character nor anything he has EVER done … I just tried to be nice to him.

So, normally, I have my pay direct deposited in to my account … for the past 2 years with this company.  I figured that, even though I got “laid off” in the tackiest manner I have ever seen, they would at least direct deposit my last pay.  Well, they didn’t … and I don’t know why, because I didn’t want to see this character to ask … for my pay … anymore than he wanted to see me … other than to watch me beg and squirm for my check … at 5pm … when I was supposed to have come BACK to this “hell hole” to pick up my check, so they told the officers … not me!!!  Who does that?!?  Now I have bills that are paid by electronic funds transfer from my account on my pay days to the creditor’s account.  So, my account was overdrawn since they didn’t deposit my pay; I didn’t want to wait until 5pm nor did I want to see these characters again for any reason!  I called the  local police before going to the office since when I called this morning, the CEO didn’t answer nor return my call … the hr guy didn’t answer nor return my call, and the lowest level manager who was there with the hr guy when I was laid off didn’t answer nor return my call.  Why do I need to wait to talk to people I don’t want to see or talk to … I am sure it is the same for them?!?  No love lost!!  So to avoid unnecessary drama which I know this character enjoys … I called the police!  They came, I explained to them my situation (2 officers came … both white and cool … one was from Jersey), they asked me to wait outside of the office …. and they came out with my paycheck!!!!  I don’t need any drama … I just wanted to get my pay for my work … which was OBVIOUSLY GOOD FOR 6 YEARS!!!  Besides, I got a new job that I start Monday with a debt settlement company.  Wish me great success … if you care to …

And there you have it!!

Have a great weekend … and thanks for reading!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Holt Fairchild
    Aug 05, 2016 @ 16:53:51

    Brilliant solution, John. It is illegal to withhold pay following a firing. I have done a lot of staffing and if I ever had to lay someone off, I always had the last paycheck, vacation pay owed, calculated to the penny. At the very least, you allow the person to leave with no monies owed and the ability to walk immediately to the bank with that stress removed. There is decency built into that law.

    You will do very well in your new job. You will be speaking to many people in hardship. You will apply everything you know about compassion, realism, and wisdom to the position. They are lucky to have you.

    Best of luck!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

