Stick to the Point, Please!

point taken

 

Happy Friday, Y’All!! So … uhhh … T.G.I.F.!!!
I  had to get it in there!  Tradition!
It indeed has been an interesting week.  One thing I always try to do is “gain” something …  knowledge, wisdom … people-wise … to help make my life a bit more the way I would like it to be.  There must be a whole field of “self-psychology” in some form or fashion.  I know, that’s a crazy comment.  Wide open for discussion!!
Have you ever experienced engaging in a discussion or conversation with someone, maybe attempting to illustrate or demonstrate a point?  Maybe defend yourself or something you said or did?!?  It’s normal to disagree, but how about Donald Trump’s capricious comments about Mexican and people who ” … come from all over South America!”?? Does that sound like a racist comment to you??  Can you see “it” – the racism – through all of his money and business investments?!?  Isn’t it amazing how “some” people think … even the wealthiest and purportedly “brightest business” person!?!
When I taught at City College here in Ft. Lauderdale, FL – a career college with various associate’s programs and several BA programs in business – I  had the privilege of teaching/facilitating the debate class!!  What a blast, watching those minds hold on to or even attack a “position” or “point of view” of their opponents.  That course, in addition to “Personal Development”, was amongst my favorite to teach.  You kind of learn to stick to the point, chart out your argument or position, and gather and illustrate information supporting your position or point of view.  Now, I always tell folks that I may not be the “smartest” person you know, but I attribute much of my happiness, equilibrium and “success”, if you will, to being organized.  It’s in the self-training for me, especially dealing with the “unfairness and injustices” in life.  The point is, I am a wonderful human being … doing this thing called “life”!
Just around the “bend” is July 4th … next weekend … so as summer sets in and the temperatures rise, enjoy the journey … and stick to the point!
Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

