Stay Connected . . . To Your Creator!!

valuebody

Happy Monday, Folks!

Have you ever seen the weather change so fast?! I have!! It was a while back but I was a student at St. Paul’s School and we had a football game. It was something like October 22 … circa 1970 … it was snowing in Concord, NH … The players were still yelling: “We love you Big Red!” That’s what we called our teams at SPS since the mascot was a “pelican”!! The foot ballteam led by Coach Maurice Blake was notorious for “hoopin’ and hollerin'”, often while we pounded on our bellies as we lay on our backs in the middle of the football field! I was a teenager and loved organized sports, be it basketball, football or track. Those were my favorites. I learned at an early age to value my body and keep it in good shape. Don’t get me wrong, now, I have never used any steroids for muscle enhancement as I am normally more comfortable in a thin frame!! Excessive “body building” is clearly vanity … self abuse even!!

Here of late, I have noticed more “older” people in the gym, especially on Sundays. There are a couple of guys who sit in the jacuzzi when I am there and a few who swim, too! As I meandered around the gym yesterday, I saw a gray haired woman, maybe 60 or so, stop at a machine where a man was sitting doing some leg thrusts … and I wanted to take a photo of them!! It was so cool, checking them out … as they checked each other out … and enjoyed a fun workout!! I am kind of in the market for a workout partner but I have become so accustomed to working out by myself. There are a couple of really nice ladies … young ladies … whom I have approached about working out together on different occasions. We’ll see what the future holds! You are never too old … or anything else, for that matter … to appreciate the body you live in!!

As I listened to some of my favorite tel-Evangelists yesterday, the theme of “the body” came up over and over again. First of all, these tv pastors kept saying that “God” wants you to value your body … and your partners body, too. They suggested that just “skin on skin” contact without any spiritual meaning or appreciation is not what the “Creator” of the body had in mind!! We all know that biological reproduction is the end result of sexual activity between a man and a woman, so …. Yet, even when indulging in sexual activity, a certain amount of responsibility and self respect is suggested by the Bible … believe it or not!! So, try to stop making excuses for letting your body go to crap … it is YOUR responsibility … and it says a lot about yourself.

“You cannot devalue the body and value the soul – or anything else. The isolation of the body sets it into direct conflict with everything else in creation.” – Wendell Berry

So, as you continue along your journey, don’t forget the vessel that your “spirit” travels in … your body. Stay connected to your Creator … through your breath, your mind, your spirit … and your body!

Make it a good one!

Peace,

John I. Cook

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scott Cummings
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 18:58:06

    Nice speech

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

