“One Never Knows, Do One!?!”

One Never Knows

Happy Friday, All!

It seems like it got here rather quickly … both Friday …. and the first day of August!!!! My, my, my …. time flies when you’re having fun … or are you?! I hope so. Try to borrow or steal some of your life back to have some simple fun every now and then. It doesn’t have to be fancy fun or dangerous, but just fun that puts a smile on your face!!!

These past few days, I have been thinking about my mother … Mary … who comes to me in times of trouble!!! She also comes to me when I am figuring out how to avoid trouble … and even comes to me when I am having a fine time! She’s here with me now! Peace be still . . . Our world today seems full of trouble, doesn’t it? One may wonder whom one can trust! One may wonder whom one can confide in! One may wonder why “one” does what “one” does! All in all … it seems … “One Never Knows, Do One?!” That phrase was coined by the legendary Thomas “Fats” Waller, born to a reverend and his wife in New York City circa 1904. My Mom … Mother Mary … was born in 1917 and often spoke of the different “Fats”, including “Fats” Domino, author of “The Thrill on Blueberry Hill”!

Those were tough times, too! I mean, my mother and father lived through the Great Depression, while being born just before World War I, and lived through World War II … shucks, even the Vietnam War!! That’s a whole lot of years. I also think of my boarding school coach, Maurice Blake, whose stories about World War II still keep me intrigued. He’s coming upon his 90th birthday next week. Okay, so I am feeling a bit disappointed in human kind because it seems “we” as an entity cannot get our stuff together … socially, politically, civilly even! When things go “wrong” for me, I become somewhat of an introvert, guarding myself against hostile forces and ideas. Nowadays, as I posted the photo of “Peace/Justice” in the midst of the yin yang symbol, I find my solace in peace while seeking justice for all. I don’t want to hurt anybody, not even with my words!! My goal is to help in the healing process of those I have the fortune to come into contact with. So, while one really never knows, may we seek the best for each other and do the best we can for civilization … and of course, be the best that we can be!

Have a wonderful Friday and a great weekend, Folks!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

