“The Journey Continues . . .”

Live love learn

It’s Friday, y’all!

What does that mean to you?! Well for me, as soon as my eyes opened up, I said: “Thank you!” Now that I am seated here with each of you, I’ll simply state: “T.G.I.F.”! What about you?!? How do YOU do it in the waking hours?!? Well, thanks for reading by all means.

There were some days lately, and it still happens now and then, where I just didn’t know how things were going to go for me. I mean, I would resolve one issue, and then here comes like three more! Now when I say issue, I mean something that would occupy my thought processes for some time, maybe more than I wanted … to spend thinking about it or dealing with it. Nowadays, I really have to care about something a lot to put all of my energy into resolving it. Yet, as I attempt to handle each situation with tact and calm, there are those moments where I still feel rather helpless (NOT hopeless!). Then I remember, “The Journey Continues . . .”

“Everyone once, once only. Just once and no more. And we also once. Never again. But this having been once, although only once, to have been of the earth, seems irrevocable.” – Rainer Maria Rilke

Do you know the difference between helpless and hopeless? I am not sure either but the first one keeps me at peace, especially when I say The Serenity Prayer, because then I know that I cannot control ALL things … Nor, do I know ALL things … Yet, I never lose hope, which is the belief in the unseen. May we each go forward today, knowing that this is the “once” that Rainer Maria Rilke is talking about. It is today … it is every day … that you can open your eyes!

Peace,

John I. Cook

Leave a Reply

