Keeping Someone In The Past Robs Them of Their Future!

Future

Happy Monday, All!

I know, I know … I was there with you on this wonderful long 4th of July Weekend Celebration! Now, it’s time to saddle up and get moving again! Hello MONDAY!

How were your festivities? I hope all went well for each of you. As I watched the news and saw story after story last night, I realized that it was another “news-filled” weekend … from a kid living in Tampa being in Palestine and getting beaten up and arrested, to a guy swimming in the ocean off Manhattan Beach, California who narrowly escaped being eaten by a Great White Shark that had gotten caught up in some fishing line! Life is a journey . . . no one really knows when it will end for each of us. So, enjoy each day, okay?!

Some folks get caught up in dwelling on the past, which is where most of us learned our most valuable life’s lessons, and cannot see the future for staying focused on something there – in the past! The same happens when someone attempts to move on from their past and create a better future for themselves, their loved ones … and the world … and someone or something tries to keep them caged up in their past! Now I know my taste in music varies and some of you might even be surprised at me. But there is a female vocalist who calls herself “Frou Frou” that sings somewhat Bohemia-type melodies with some interesting messages. One song called “Let Go!” is often played by our Saturday morning yoga teacher as part of her playlist for class. I now play it often, too. I often wait on my mat in a particular pose until I hear it near the end of class and it sparks a fire in my heart! A good flame, that is! Yet, it is not the first time I have heard that concept – Let Go! In fact, the first time I heard it was in a catch phrase or logo type mantra, “Let go and let God!” Hopefully, your God is a gracious one.

Nowadays, people like to talk about the past to wallow in it or to smush someone’s face in their past … regardless as to how long ago it was, and, regardless as to how far they have come from their past! Can you really “judge” someone based on their past? Or do we need to take a look at events SINCE then? Methinks that the more up-to-date view may serve us well, too. Try to break away from the past with sayings like, “Oh! He’ll never change!” or “She always does (says) that!” This may limit that person from moving forward, especially if your negativity is more “enticing” than a simple humble life style. You guys probably know already, but, yoga for me is a lifestyle. It is not just a series of exercises!! One of my favorite expressions that I first heard at the end of a yoga class initially struck me as kind of crass! Once I took a closer look at it, and, a closer look at myself, I understood: “Let go of whatever does not serve you in a positive way!” What do you think?

Have a great day, and a super week!

Namaste!

John I. Cook

Leave a Reply

