One Down!

Sun goes down
Happy Friday, All!

It would only be appropriate that those of us who are feeling it join in with a T.G.I.F.!

Just in case you’re wondering what I mean by “one down,” it is like learning to do something all over again … though we’ve had the experience before. Besides, experience is the best teacher! That first step, that first week, that first kiss and the first break up are usually the hardest. That’s what I’m talking about!

Well, I’ve gotten off to a decent start though some of the options, including getting help from some of the agencies like Family Success here, didn’t quite work out the way I had hoped. We live and we learn. A few friends have shown some “love” during the transition from working a regular “9 – 6” to looking for another job. It was maybe seven years ago when I used the unemployment compensation and Work Force One Center to receive funds during this time and locate other job options. It is still a great service, which includes listings of jobs, counselors to help revive ones resume and bring it up to date, and actual “hot jobs” interviews. They also have a Professional Placement Network still offered by the same woman who ran the workshops seven years ago. I met her yesterday and she invited me to the workshop she is offering next week in Ft. Lauderdale.

So, while getting back into the swing of claiming weeks as it is called in the unemployment process, I had to get log ins and passwords reset in the computer system which has pretty much remained the same, too. In the Center, there are computers to search for jobs, computers to claim the weeks of unemployment, as well as computers available to the public to access resources for re-employment. They even have some organizations that help people with rent and utility payments as well as high water bills when caused by an unexpected emergency or lay off. Qualifying for these funds is a tremendous process. It reminds me of the days when I worked with ACORN in the foreclosure prevention workshops I trained for in Orlando’s ACORN office and later presented in Ft. Lauderdale! Working as a community organizer is a tough job which requires tremendous dedication and people skills. I went through one agency, Family Success, for a few days to get help as well, though I didn’t “qualify” for assistance. Thanks for the information, Marie Achille.

Yet, I do have an interview set up for Monday through a wonderful employment coach/counselor – Mrs. Kathia! She was helping me reset my passwords for the Employ Florida website and asked me what type of work I was looking for. So, I told her, something in administration or education. She gave me an application for a job and told me to fill it out. She also asked for my e-mail address and handed me a template for my resume and e-mailed me the same one so I could breathe life back into it. Just to let you know, it was a few days of running around from office to office, then home to re-do my resume several times, and then back to Work Force Once Center here in Ft. Lauderdale. Like I said, “One Down!” meaning one week of this and hopefully we’re off to a good start, thank God … and others who’ve been so supportive, including my landlord “Mitch” and my good friend “Bobby”. Thanks, Burke for your encouragement and support as well. A special thanks, too, for the supportive and encouraging e-mails I’ve received as well …

Have a great Friday and a wonderful weekend.

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

