Back To School – Are You Ready?

school 2013

It’s Monday again!

This is the day that starts the week off, so … we’ve got to make it a great beginning! It’s okay if one starts a little slow, just get it started! Wishing my good friend’s son a “Happy Born Day” – Phoenix Stokely – on August 10th, 2013. Congratulations to Stokely Gittens, and the Baby’s Momma, Diana!

In most places in this country, the kids are getting ready to go back to school. Now, this includes “kids” of all ages – from kindergarten to graduate school! All I can say is, “I remember when!” Things were different then as compared to now although I see that many youth still go away to or attend “camp” of some sort. In my elementary school years, I remember going to summer camps in Upstate New York. As I got into then “junior high school” and had learned to enjoy the trombone, which I started playing in elementary school at Rochambeau in White Plains, I then looked forward to “Summer Music School” at the Westchester County Center! We had a chance to explore different instruments; for me, it included piano and drums. Those were the years that literally “fine tuned” my ear for music. I still enjoy music of all sorts and styles, even different countries with their different instruments!

This coming Saturday, I have been invited to “emcee” H.E.R.O.’s “Back To School!” Program to be held at the African American Research Library and Cultural Center here in Fort Lauderdale, FL. We are hoping for an even bigger turn out than we had last year at the “old” H.E.R.O. (Humanitarian Emergency Resource Organization) office on Oakland Park Blvd., which is just down the street from the present location also on Oakland Park Blvd. Hats off to Marie Achille who runs the office, which includes referrals to other humanitarian organizations in Broward County, hosts workshops by Florida Power and Light (FPL) to help people learn more about energy saving as well as special programs for those in “need”. H.E.R.O. has also sponsored a location for one of the many “Food Pantry” set ups here in Fort Lauderdale. I always look forward to speaking with the youth, as I have also been asked to share tidbits of my own thoughts on “Stop The Violence” and incorporate into my presentation, which I have entitled, “We Got This!” Times are tough and finances are tight … one almost has to be a “hero” to stay in school and make progress in the many fields identified to help humanity move forward, not backwards ….

We’ve had a few sunny days this weekend, no serious hints of tropical storms either. So, in looking forward to getting this week started, may we be grateful for another opportunity and embrace it to derive something meaningful from our lives.

Have a great week!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

