Happy Father’s Day, Dudes!!!

Father's Day 2013Happy Friday, All!

And a one, a two .. a one, two, three, four …. T.G.I.F.!!! Yes, sir! We’ve got another weekend to enjoy … and it’s Father’s Day on Sunday! Hip … hip … hooray! Of course, I think of my father – Isaac H. Cook – whose stories were much like a chat with “Jesus”. Yet, like me … “he ain’t no saint!”. But he was … and is … and will always be … my Dad, RIP Dude! We’ve all got father’s stories … some of them good … others may not be so good. While being a father means a lot more than biological reproduction, for me, it has come in the form of being a “father figure” to others. Peace be still!

Now, I have quite a few friends who also brag on their husbands being good dads, and also quite a few friends themselves … who are good dads …. If I start to name them, I might leave somebody out … and we don’t want to do that! My relationship with my Dad was a bit distant. Yet, in his “few words” self, I knew he loved me. He first told me when I got a scholarship to attend St. Paul’s School in Concord, NH for my high school years … “Just go … ask questions later!” Furthermore, on “Family Day” at SPS, when I played football under my athletic “father” for three years, Coach Maurice Blake, he and my mother showed up in the stands during the game and surprised me! Then, when I wanted to drop out of Princeton to play in a band, he merely asked me: “Where are you gonna live when you drop out?” I took the hint that he wanted me to stay. Since they themselves, both mom and dad, who never finished high school, didn’t know the world I was entering, they took me to visit a guy who was the family doctor … just to talk. It worked! They both were at my graduation from Princeton University!

I was so happy that they never gave up on me … yes, yes … peace be still! As for me, I have one daughter, Ayanna Lynne, whom after a rough and rocky marriage with her mom and an ultimate divorce … kind of gave up on me … So, over the past few years, we have been able to restart our relationship, though the last fun time I remember was when she and I came to Orlando to visit Disney … and had a great time!! (I wipe back the one or two tears I have left as I write this …) So … um … to all my friends and associates, like Larry T. Woody, and, a former student who has impressed me with his love of fatherhood with his kids, Mr. P.j. O’Hanlon, even Peter A. Zachary (RIP), I wish you all a wonderful and Happy Father’s Day, Dudes! And a special shout out to those women who play the role of father in their children’s lives! Y’all ROCK “hard”!

“A father is a thousand schoolmasters.” – Louis Nizer

I will make peace with my father in my mind, and his strength and that of his father will be a well-spring in my life.
(Excerpt from “TOUCHSTONES”, June 16th)

Have a great day and a wonderful weekend!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Woody, L.T.
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 14:22:37

    Well put, Cook. Thanks for the mention. Very happy to hear that you and your daughter are working to come together. Parenting is brutal stuff…not for the meek. Happy Father’s Day, to my SPS homie.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

