Back To The Drawing Board

Happy Hump Day, All!

Can you believe it is already September 2012 and a new school year is beginning?! I am amazed sometimes at how things move so quickly and before you know it, it seems they are out of reach! Now, I don’t know about you but my desire to be the best that I can be is always ebbing in my veins. Of course, I pick and choose my arenas, so to speak, in which I can be “the best that I can be” and continue to be grateful for those opportunities without the comparison element that we humans often succumb to. In other words, I don’t try to be the best pilot I can be because I can not fly a plane, you dig?!

In observing the upcoming election and campaign developments, it is clear that this one in November 2012 will be a close one. And remember, November is just “a stone’s throw away” from today! The candidates wives have been on television and in the convention centers, the comedians have come up to crack jokes about each party and some lower blows have been thrown as well! Romney’s campaign has even been accused of adopting a version of the “Ku Klux Klan’s 1922 Motto: Keep America American”! I had even heard from a friend in response to an article accusing someone in the GOP camp of attaching monkey or gorilla bodies to “The Obama Family” members faces and sending it around to certain people in an e-mail!

As for me, and perhaps even you, I continue to struggle to put pieces together of this puzzle called “life” as well as to put one foot in front of the other while keeping a spiritual approach to life as well. Just last night, I met with a new group of Haitian adults to work with in an English Literacy Class with H.E.R.O. (Humanitarian Emergency Resource Organization) here in Broward County. We are attempting to “crank it up” a few notches, and, when I met with the new group and faced the harsh reality of their level of English, my heart sputtered a bit … peace be still!

So, in looking at my personal life, my professional life and even my spiritual life, I realize that I must continue to rejuvenate, reaching higher, delving deeper and even regrouping as I head back to the drawing board … periodically!

Have a great Hump Day!

Love and Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

