NAMASTE . . .

Happy Friday, All!

As is customary in this “spiritual neck of the woods”, T.G.I.F.!

Sometimes, I want to say or write something, and I immediately remember some words from a song. Like, “I’ve been so many places in my life and time ….” immediately jogs my memory for “A Song For You”, one of my favorite renditions done by Ray Charles. Yet, I continue with the thought. There are some places I have been that you may not have been nor even heard of while there are some places I’ve been that I hope you never go, peace be still . . . As well, I am sure many of you have been places that I’ve never been nor heard of as well. Still, one of my favorite sayings is, “Home is where the heart is”. We can go as many places as we can imagine, but we will always . . . ALWAYS . . . return to that place deep within ourselves. Namaste . . .

This journey that we are all embarked upon that we choose to call “life” is one that most of us figure out along the way, since there is no users manual provided at birth! I remember one service at Calvary Chapel Fort Lauderdale when Pastor Bob referred to the Bible as the instruction manual for life. While there are some of us who are religious, I choose to be spiritual, though I have read the Bible from front cover to back cover while I served time here in Broward County Jail. It was a short stint and I thank my Creator for it, as redundant as it may sound. I practiced yoga there, I read scriptures and did Bible studies alone and with other inmates. I taught English to my fellow Spanish speaking inmates and I even taught yoga class once a week during our “free” time. I also wrote my first two books while there . . . peace be still! Some people tell me not to tell others about this but I am sure anyone could find out if they wanted to. Besides, that was like 10 years ago.

Today, I find myself facing more bills than income (anyone with me on that one?), yet I do have a job and a place to stay, thanks to some good souls and flexible people I have had the pleasure of knowing. One of my best friends is struggling from ALS and he happens to be fairly successful in this “life”, so to speak. I stay as close to him as I can without becoming a nuisance to he and his family. In the midst if this portion of my journey, I am glad to be able to give back whatever I have which I feel is a loving and caring spirit, full of warmth and comradery for those who can appreciate it. I am not calculated, not wealthy, nor am I a successful businessman. Still, I have been told that I am a good friend and a hard worker while others may say to me on occasion, especially when we disagree, that they’d like nothing to do with me!

Nowadays, my life is pretty simple. I go to work each day and do my best, and, I enjoy working out a bit each week doing yoga twice a week and lifting weights and leg and cardio exercises when possible. Of course, what you are reading is a major part of my life, and, I utilize it to communicate with others some of my personal anecdotes as well as to market my services for Educational Excellence. While my third book is “a work in progress”, I often find myself preoccupied with the aforementioned to get much done in chunks of writing, if you will. I anticipate completing it before I expire.

So, in other words, Happy Friday … and I am sending this “song” to you!

Namaste,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

