Checkin’ In …


Happy Monday, All!

Yes, here’s to hoping your weekends went well. I, personally, could not have asked for a better weekend. We all know that the bills keep coming, and I for one, try very hard NOT to spend what I don’t have. Yet, this weekend was one where many many friends wished me a happy birthday, some I hadn’t heard from in years and others I see almost every day and most weekends. On my end, a great time was had by all. It culminated yesterday when I attended service at Calvary and the content for the sermon was the 23rd Psalm. The associate pastor at Calvary did such a great job of bringing passages of that scripture to life today, that I was very humbled and touched, as it is a scripture that my mother taught me … literally verbally … when I embraced living a spiritual life … out of necessity. Finally, courtesy of Brian Saraceno, promoter at Capone’s who gifted me two tickets to see Yolanda Adams, an exceptional gospel singer, I went to “Hard Rock Live!” at 4pm yesterday to enjoy an unexpected power-filled and spiritual show! God is good …

One of the things that has intrigued me for so many years living in Florida, which I really enjoy, is how corrupt things have gotten, in particular in politics. Now you all know that I try to stay away from things that I don’t know details about; yet, I am not shy from stating my gut reactions to “people, places, and things” … politics included. So, two things have caught my attention lately here in what Ponce de Leon, Spanish explorer who “discovered” this land and named it “La Florida”. The first one is that the president of the Broward County Teacher’s Credit Union, Pat Santeramo, was arrested and accused of stealing funds from the teachers here in Broward County. There is a paper trail that leads right back to him . . .

The second situation is the scenario surrounding the political climate as the Republicans seek to smear the Democrats here in Florida in regards to “Obamacare” and the “stand your ground law”. In listening to Congressional Rep. Frederica Wilson for Florida’s 17th congressional district on “Face the Nation” yesterday, it became clear that she, who actually voted for the “stand your ground” law feels it was a mistake. It was not intended to be used in defense of people like Zimmerman, who, in her words: ” … stalked a young black man, followed him in his vehicle and chased him on foot to finally put a bullet in his heart …”, and feels it should be repealed for THAT reason. She also spoke passionately about how people here in Florida, not only in her congressional district, suffer tragically from NOT having health insurance of any sort, including the elderly and the poor.

While I have a lot to be grateful for, it is apparent that there are many many changes still needed in our society today, especially in sunny Florida.

Have a great week!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

