The Fourth of July

Happy Fourth of July Week, All!It is always a pleasure to be able to write these words, those inspired by warm friendships, deep inspirations and lessons of life!  I thank you once again for reading.

I am sure most of us have heard the expression that many things in life are circular: we go full circle – from childbirth to expiration.  In other words, we come into this world needing help as a new born, and, if we are fortunate (or unfortunate in some cases) enough to complete the cycle, we go out needing the help of other humans.  Peace be still . . .  Sometimes, when contemplating this circular concept, and, while “connecting the dots” so to speak, I realize how important we are to each other.  Sometimes, life doesn’t seem to make sense, but we live it anyway.  I am glad to be fortunate enough to have the concept of a spiritual health that, if kept up, can take me through some of those unexplainable moments in life.

Usually, I ask early on in the e-mail how your weekends were.  So, I am late, as well as not perfect . . . so, I’ll ask you now!  How were your weekends?  Silly, ain’t I!  Well, mine was really nice even with the scorching heat.  I grew up in some sub zero climates so I make the adjustments when it is hot!  Friday night was cool, hung out a bit downtown and turned in early as I had another dental appointment Saturday morning for X-rays.  It was painless but the machine that goes around your head for the panoramic shots made me nervous!  Then, early Saturday eve, I met up with a good college chum, Lee Blair, and his wonderfully spunky wife, Toni Blair,  (for real … that is her name, through marriage of course), at Rocco’s Taco’s on Las Olas Boulevard.  Our time was stellar, and we talked incessantly about  college days and things up to and including present projects.  The food was delicious, the tequilas were tantalizing and the company was splendid.  Thanks both Toni and Lee for connecting with me on this trip.  Keep me in our prayers as you know I’ve a couple of projects that are works in progress!

Sunday was super!  Got up early and actually washed clothes before 9am since I wanted to make it to Calvary’s 10:15 service.  Pastor Bob Coy was back at the podium, and, though that service was jam packed, I managed to find a seat for one.  Bob spoke about his biological father’s will, which he didn’t really understand, and compared it to our Father’s will for us to carry us through this journey in search of love and everlasting peace!  It was beautifully done, and I sat in awe without a Bible though he refers to scriptures because I like so much his form of story-telling!  May we all continue each day, being true to ourselves and our callings to make this journey called life one to be fondly remembered … forever … and ever.  Amen!

Peace,

John I. CookRed rose, Director
Educational Excellence
Ps. – Happy Birthday to my friend, Michele Rinks out of Jackson, MS; Frank Jones  and Howie Weintraub both from NY this week as well!
Leave a Reply

