In Memorial Of . . .

Happy Friday, All!

It is like breathing for me … for without it, I would not breathe!  T.G.I.F.!

This weekend, we here in the United States of America, are honoring those women and men who fought for, and continue to fight for, our “freedom”.  The word freedom comes from the word free, which, according to Webster’s Standard Dictionary, means: (adj) not busy or in use; independent; unrestrained: unencumbered: without debt or obligation; without cost;(vt) to release or make available.  Yes, of course, after the American Revolution, these United States were freed from the tyranny of England and their practice of “taxation without representation”.  My, my, my . . . we have come a long way since then . . . or have we?

Needless to say, my take on the freedom theme may vary, depending on what type of freedom we are talking about.  But, Memorial Day commemorates those who served our country in defense of hostile forces that may challenge our way of life.  “Let freedom ring!!!”

As a history teacher, American History in particular, I recall the “Bill of Rights” and teaching the “Declaration of Independence”, as well as the events leading up to the establishment of “The Constitution of the United States of America”.  We, as a people, had the right and responsibility to make amendments to it as time and circumstances dictated.  The structure of this “Grand Land” was based on those documents including freedom of speech, freedom of assembly, and the right to bear arms . . . Again, my, my, my . . . we have come a long way since then.  Yet, we must remember the men who first shed their blood for our freedom, and nowadays, the women and men who serve in our Armed Forces to preserve and help keep our way of life . . . free!

Have a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!

Peace,

 

John I. CookRed rose, Director
Leave a Reply

