Mind, Body and Spirit

Happy Monday, All!

How was your weekends?  In particular, how were those of you who are “mothers” weekends?  I hope all was well.  This time on Mother’s Day, I didn’t have those fitful pangs of “I miss you, Momma!” as I had often had in the past few years since she had her “homecoming”.  I actually was around people, an extended family of sorts, and their kids and a few of their friends including me.  It was nice for me, and, I hope it was as comfortable as it could be for them, since I have only known them for a short time.

Yet, there were moments when I found myself breathing deeply – as we do in yoga class – inhaling the beach air and enjoying the ambiance of Hollywood Beach which is here in South Florida, too.  There were groups of families, groups of friends, one woman who appeared to be alone even walked up and started  talking to us about a new treatment for cholesterol, showing me an article on her iPhone where a doctor was ultimately confessing he had diagnosed and treated previous patients incorrectly.  The doctor had prescribed medicines that really were not curing his patients, in fact, giving them additional side effects!  This is not a new story, right!?

What I did notice, however, is a peace-filled calm come over me each time I listened to the kids chattering and their parents and siblings around them encouraging them to have fun and behave, of course!  The surf was very high and some of the children there on Hollywood Beach, which is more family oriented than my usual haunt of Fort Lauderdale Beach, were out a bit far using their boogie boards to catch those healthy waves.  At one point, the life guard, who was very attentive, motioned to several kids after repeatedly blowing her whistle, to come closer to the shore line as they rode the waves.  It appears that a good time was had by all.

“Often the wisdom of the body clarifies the despair of the spirit.”   – Marion Woodman

Today, (and everyday nowadays for me), I am learning to listen to the wisdom of my own body.  (TOUCHSTONES  May 14th)

Have a wonderful day ….

Peace,

John I. CookRed rose, Director
Leave a Reply

