Solitude . . .

Happy Hump Day, All!

Just looking around the corner, so to speak, and we are coming upon the halfway mark of 2012!  Aren’t we surprised how quickly time moves?  Interesting thing is that whether we “make progress” or just keep doing the same mundane things, time continues to flow.  Which brings me to the highlight of this e-mail: solitude.

In my earlier years, I had always busied myself, seldom wanted to be alone and often wanted to be in the company of others . . . anybody . . . it didn’t matter…  Family life was different then.  My father would ALWAYS have us sit down for breakfast, though I ate lunch at school with the other kids, and we ALWAYS had sit down “together” dinner.  I think most people today cannot even imagine such an occurrence, especially at EVERY meal, as I said, except lunch.  Of course, my mother had no problem with this either since she supported my father 100% in this decision.  We even had Family Sundays!  We would have breakfast together, us kids would go to Sunday school and occasionally, I would join my parents for church.  It, however, was not mandatory.  In the afternoon, we had Sunday dinner – all six of us – sometimes with guests.  On certain Sundays, my mother would bake cakes and pies and even indulge in creating a tasty “home-made” ice cream!  Imagine that . . .

Doing homework was a regular ritual, and my sister Edna was usually responsible for making sure I got it done.  And . . . in the evenings before bed, we had quiet time.  Often, I would witness my parents – both of them – on their knees at the side of their beds – in prayer before going to sleep.  Sometimes, I would read . . . other times, I would just lay in bed and think about things . . . in solitude . . . until I fell asleep.  I still enjoy moments like this, and I am sure I share this behavior with others, in order to separate myself from the “drama” of the world.

“I learned from them that inspiration does not come like a bolt, nor is it kinetic, energetic striving, but it comes into us slowly and quietly and all the time, though we must regularly and every day give it a little chance to start flowing, prime it with a little solitude and idleness.”   – Brenda Ueland

I will remember today that spiritual progress comes only when I make room for it in my life.  (TOUCHSTONES  May 9th)

Have a wonderful Wednesday, and, enjoy the rest of your week!

Peace,

John I. CookRed rose, Director

Leave a Reply

