Some of Life’s Little Wonders . . .

Good Monday morning, All!

Here’s to hoping your weekends went well. Sometimes the peace and quiet of the home is nice, as one friend told me after he had sent his son, sister and her daughter out to eat at Bokamper’s one night since he wasn’t “feeling it”! He told me he enjoyed himself at home. My weekend was nice as I spent most of it home alone though I did have one kind soul come to visit for a few hours Saturday evening and we snacked on brie cheese and crackers along side some jumbo shrimp and cocktail sauce followed by a light white wine.

We often look for amazing things and big events to keep our blood running, so to speak, but there are those quiet moments that linger and have a unique impact on our psyche quite often. After the excitement had died down about the Miami HEAT setting the record straight with arch rival New York Knickerbockers and the intrigue of “Lin-Sanity”, I was ready for a somewhat quiet laid back weekend as I am still recovering from my motorcycle incident from two weeks ago now.

There is one person I wanted to mention who took the time to call “911” and have an ambulance sent to my flat while she worked late into the early morning hours that Friday night/Saturday morning. I had sent Christina aka “Tina” a Facebook message once I had arrived home badly injured and realized that I did not have my cell phone or wallet since my rear pocket of my blue jeans was torn off and the cell phone case literally ripped open and emptied as that was my only means of communicating with anyone at that hour – 2AM Saturday morning. What a great friend who called, was told the address was wrong because I had written 18th Street in the Facebook message instead of Avenue, which is where I live, and the ambulance workers persevered and found me anyway! She still has no idea of how important that was for me.

A second person I wanted to thank, as I thought about him and finally called yesterday, was my nephew, Brandon aka “Big Boy”, who came over after my sister told him I may need a helping hand that Saturday after I got back from the Holy Cross Hospital ER and had trails and puddles of blood all over my flat in every room as I slithered around after the accident trying to comfort myself until finally seeking help by writing Tina. When he came, he first took my prescriptions to Publix Pharmacy and had them filled, even adding an extra $5.00 since my wallet was lost with almost a couple hundred dollars in it and I had only like $20.00 in cash to my name. Then, he took it upon himself to disinfect and clean the floors in all four rooms of the flat with Spic and Span and some lavender scented Fabuloso floor cleaner! Thanks again ‘Big Boy” …

So, this past Saturday afternoon was Muhammad Ali’s 70th Birthday Party held in Las Vegas. How nice it was to see everybody from Snoop Dogg, Stevie Wonder, Michael Jordan, Quincy Jones and a host of other super stars and celebrities there to wish a “Living Legend” a most happy birthday! I can’t tell you how many times I tried to push back my tears as they showed clips of “The Greatest” doing the “rope a dope” and his fancy footwork, aka – The Ali Shuffle, to lull his competitors into a false sense of security or entertain them with his theatrics and then …. wham!!! – followed up with a knock out! It was quite touching to see Sean “P. Diddy” Combs state that after his father had died when he was three or so, Ali had become his father figure and how his words, dedication and flair for entertainment became a positive example for the young budding rapper/producer! He was definitely a major influence in developing my pride of being an African American young man at a predominantly white, private, Episcopalian and all boys boarding school in Concord, NH! He still is “The Greatest” and his concern for people suffering from Parkinson’s Disease and others like him looking for cures and treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease, something my mother suffered from until her untimely passing, who have placed the “self” aside in working tirelessly for others.

“Self interest is but the survival of the animal in us. Humanity only begins for man with self-surrender.” – Henri Amiel

Today, I surrender my self-interest again, knowing I must do it over and over. (TOUCHSTONES February 27th)

This is the key for the world-wide human community …

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

