Home Is Where The Heart Is

Happy Friday, All!

And if I might say so myself, T.G.I.F.!

And the journey continues …. Have you ever heard that expression before … “Home is where the heart is …”? It has become part of human folklore, if you will, meaning that no matter where we go, we like to be with that person(s) we love or that place that we love … that’s the “place” we call HOME! Well, I am feeling kind of groovy like that today and I have my reasons …. How about you?

Wasn’t it nice to see your family and friends over the recent holidays, be it Thanksgiving or Christmas or Hanukah or Kwanzaa? It was for me because so many people reached out to me like family, kind of like you guys reading this, too! In case you haven’t noticed, many of you have been like an e-mail family for me! One particular friend I even call “Cuz” for cousin since our old friendship has been renewed! How nice it is indeed!

As we are looking forward to Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and eventually Black History Month in February, it seems that feeling of “home” has come closer than ever. Now I am not checking out or anything so sit back down and keep reading!

This past week, a couple of things happened that gave me those warm fuzzies again. A while back, I had kind of lost touch with my daughter, Ayanna Lynne, and I had tried many many things to rekindle that relationship. I am sure she has her reasons for staying aloof as I have mine for wanting to be in touch with her again. My nephew’s wife who lives in the Bronx, NY knows a bit about my emotions in this area and I’ve shared it with you guys briefly as I charted part of my personal growth here through Educational Excellence. One day, Janet told me that my daughter mentioned that she would be in touch with me but didn’t say when. A couple weeks back, I posted something on Facebook and a few hours later, I noticed an entry after my comment to Janet encouraging her to be strong. It was from my daughter to her … So, I “friended” her on Facebook … and a few days later, received an acceptance of that friendship! How nice it is … and I even viewed her page yesterday and noticed she has grown into her own person. Peace be still ….

Also, recently, I received a reply e-mail from one of the family members here on EE, Mr. Eric Louis, Director of the Lauderhill, FL location for the Boys and Girls Club of Broward County. He said he wanted to chat about something, which we do from time to time since my presentation there to the kids on “Stop The Violence”. So after playing phone tag, we talked and me and Educational Excellence have been invited back there to speak for Black History Month! Utterly exciting for me … and EE!

Yes, and, today is “Friday the 13th”, too, so put away your fears of the number “13” (triskaidekaphobia) and enjoy the dawning of a new day!

“The perfection of innocence, indeed, is madness.” – Arthur Miller

May I have the grace to let go of my innocence by taking action and admitting my mistakes. (TOUCHSTONES January 13th)

In peace … and love!

John I. Cook, Director

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sylvester Mascheck
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 18:42:00

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

    Reply

  2. more info
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 01:09:42

    depression
    Interesting post – I’d like to read more about website

    Like

    Reply

  3. http://dream-analysis.org
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 14:11:55

    I got what you mean,saved to favorites, very decent website.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

