Being Selfless

Happy Monday, All!

Here’s to hoping your weekends went well. Between fighting a cold and organizing things at home, even having a chance to visit church and watch football was in the radar for me yesterday! This week is Thanksgiving and so many families are coming together from far and wide to spend some time together and give thanks. What a wonderful world ….

I wondered what the “Occupy Movement” people will do on Thanksgiving. I wonder what their families will do …. I myself have no elaborate plans, being that I am single and have only one family member living not too far away – Port St. Lucie, FL … to be exact! Now my sister’s family will be with her there but I haven’t decided whether I will go. I have a friend who has a friend who also lives in the Fort Lauderdale area and does not have any concrete plans either. Maybe, we will get together to eat someplace here in Fort Lauderdale and be like a “spiritual family” ….

Yet, in pondering the reasons of this season, I found that Bob Coy aka Pastor Bob kind of illustrated it best in service yesterday. After continuing a series which he started a couple of months back called, “More Than Just A Word”, he introduced the word “holy”. He also identified the uses of this word in the Bible and compared to our everyday uses like “holy cow” or “holy moly”. He distinguished what God called “holy” or sacred in the Bible as well as their realms including sacred, physical and spiritual. Later, after discussing the similarities and differences, he displayed three “eating vessels” or plates, though the first one was a bowl for dog food! The second was an everyday plate and the third was a fine China plate that most people use only when guests like the in-laws come over for Thanksgiving! Needless to say, he compared our lives without a spiritual base to that of the “heathen” or the dog bowl. He further elaborated that our every day “religious lives” could be compared to the “everyday plate”, which is routine. Finally, a life with a firm spiritual base was compared to the fine China plate which he coupled with his definition of “holy” meaning sacred and separate from the everyday “person”, so to speak, who might be selfish. Well, in case I’ve lost you, I’ll try to bring it back home with the following quote.

“For the trouble is that we are self-centered, and no effort of the self can remove the self from the centre of its own endeavor.” – William Temple

It’s the kind of thing that makes you go “hmmmm”!

I am grateful for the healing which comes when I stop being so self-centered in my efforts. (TOUCHSTONES November 21st)

Have a wonderful day, all!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

