Transformed Heart

Happy Hump Day, All!

Already, November has taken off and our preparedness for the Holy Days will soon be in motion. Thanksgiving is right around the corner with Christmas, Hanukah and Kwanza on its heels. These are the “family days”, so to speak, where much communing with family, relatives and close friends takes precedence in our itineraries. How nice!

Yet, there are often those amongst us who may need some additional help with food, clothing and shelter. I recall some days a few years ago …. maybe 10 or more …. when I struggled through this season nearly alone. It was a time of serenity, prayer and hopefulness. Here in South Florida, a woman who calls herself “Big Momma” seeks to make Thanksgiving and Christmas very special for the needy. Her motto has been “No family shall starve in South Florida” for her turkey drive and her efforts to feed the less fortunate. Some of us may agree that this, too, was part of the message of the historical Jesus Christ as he preached and prayed during his days.

It is six years ago this week that my mother, Marietta Dolores, expired in hospice after her fall during the aftermath of Hurricane Wilma. She will always be my own “Big Momma” as she was to many many people in White Plains, NY. Remembering her can often be emotional, yet, I strive to remember her message. Even in her last days, I discovered a Bible she had been reading, unbeknownst to us, and inside was scribbled the words from John Ch. 14, 1-2 “Transformed heart”.

May we continue, and acknowledge, the power of silence, prayer and meditation and transforming our own hearts during these Holy Days.

“Silence is the element in which great things fashion themselves together.” – Thomas Carlyle

Today, I will remember the importance of silence in my growth. I will set aside some of my busyness and be still. (TOUCHSTONES November 9th)

R.I.P. Marietta Dolores Watkins Cook (May 20th, 1917 – November 9th, 2005)

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director
Educational Excellence
http://www.excelwitheducationalexcellence.wordpress.com
ps – Happy Birthday to my friend and neighbor who is like a big brother to me, Robbie Williams!

Leave a Reply

