Spiritual Justice

Happy Hump Day, Y’All!

I woke up kind of early this morning after a return to the gym last night since I hadn’t been in a little over a week. A local bird chirped to welcome me. I had been fighting a cold, as we say, but hadn’t let it get me down too much so I just took a break from the gym for like 12 days. Monday is a yoga class that I really enjoy and Tuesday I usually lift – bench press, triceps, lat pull down and curls. So, it was a nice return to awaken the senses in my muscles again. Thank you God!

It looks like the NBA season may be cancelled because neither side – players vs. owners – wants to give in. “It is all about the Benjamins!” as the lyrics to a rap song once stated. The earthquake in Turkey was clearly devastating. Yet, one 3-month old baby was actually pulled from the rubble and is doing well. Justice …. from beyond …. perhaps. The eight-teen year old Amaro girl from Sunrise, FL who was invited back to the “X-Factor”, who sings while she does everything … that’s what they said …. everything, for the live performances did an incredible job on Whitney Houston’s song “If I Don’t Have You!” Again … justice of sorts.

A few days ago, a Haitian couple and their child were seen in a car in SoFlo in the evening and the mother and father were arguing while a 3 year old daughter sat in the back seat helplessly watching. The argument escalated and people at the service station, where the couple began arguing and the man purportedly was hitting the woman, called the police. They sped off in the car and a struggle ensued over the steering wheel, the accelerator and the brake pedal. The car entered a nearby canal once the couple lost control. Officers arrived on the scene in time to save the woman, the child . . . but the man drowned. Spiritual justice of sorts …. perhaps. They were scheduled to begin divorce proceedings.

“A man has made at least a start on discovering the meaning of human life when he plants shade trees under which he knows full well he will never sit.” – D. Elton Trueblood

Today, I will appreciate all that comes freely to me from others, and I will give what I can to make the world a better place. (TOUCHSTONES October 26th)

Have a good day!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

