May We Never Forget . . .

Happy Hump Day, All!

For the past few days, with all the craziness happening, including the “war scarred victim” from dancing with the stars whose recent dance brought tears to many people’s eyes, including his own, as well as Hank Williams comparing President Obama to Hitler because he was playing golf with a friend … I have been feeling a bit “mystical”. Now, that doesn’t mean that I have any powers of clairvoyance or anything, it just means I’ve been feeling a bit unsettled spiritually lately. After digging around in my chest, I realized that next month will be the 6th Anniversary of my mother’s passing, may she Rest in Peace … There are a couple of resolutions that I made last year and I have fallen short of two of them …. one involves my mother. I have a couple more months to get a grip on both of them, especially the one related to her . . . Peace be still.

Early this week, I got a call from Marie Achille, whom I worked with at ACORN several years ago. We had an interesting family at the Broward ACORN office that Marie had nearly single-handedly organized and I was fortunate enough to join after my training as a foreclosure prevention organizer in Nashville, TN and Orlando, FL. We used to have fund raising events and food drives, Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, everything donated and even cooked and served by the members themselves! I remember going door to door in the neighborhood where our office was located, which was the neighborhood in Broward with the highest foreclosure rate, with a most heterogeneous group of women, children, men, Haitian, Caucasian, Latino and African American people to heighten the awareness of the gravity of seeking options to prevent foreclosure, including attending the workshops that I delivered twice a week.

Marie told me that a gentleman who was a major active member in our group, Bob Campbell, had passed away from cancer. It hit me hard because Bob and I had moved refrigerators in and out of the office, which he donated, we picked up ice and trash bags together for events we had, and he was at nearly every meeting. Now, my father passed away 20 years ago from cancer, too, so I am brushing tears away from my eyes as I write this. So, anyway, the wake is this weekend, and Marie had called me to inform me of his death and the events to follow.

Finally, this month is also Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and everybody from NFL players, the Miami Beach Police Department (with a pink police cruiser decorated especially for this occasion) as well as many many organizations and cities, including Fort Lauderdale who is hosting a special event next weekend at the River Front Park’s Esplanade, are acknowledging it. So … may each of us join in … and “May We Never Forget” … those important things that occur around us daily!

With gratitude, love and peace!

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

