Just When You Think You’ve Got It . . .‏

Happy Friday, All!

And if you know me, T.G.I.F.!

Whewww! I’ve had a lot of things going on like most of us humans do nowadays. Could it be “the last days in time”? Or is it just the end of September?! Maybe both …

In watching the news, I often find stories that I like, for example, a guy in Los Angeles at the UCLA Campus used a “flash crowd” to do a dance followed by a proposal to his girlfriend – I believe they were Vietnamese Americans – and she said, “Duh … Yes!” How romantic people can be!

Then on the home front here in Hollywood, FL, an ex-army man who had served terms in both Iraq and Afghanistan entered a courthouse with a bag filled with ammunition and an automatic pistol and over $6,000.00 to answer a parking infraction! He actually put the money and artillery-filled bag on the conveyer belt at the entrance to the courthouse that checks for metal objects. Do you think he wanted to get caught and was crying out for help?! Duh … Yes! When asked why he had the pistol, ammunition and money, he at first said he was a cop. Then, he changed his story and explained a deeper-seeded issue: “I have this clicking noise in my throat and it tells me what to do. It is like Morse Code!” He was then placed under arrest … and I hope they give him treatment … and bond was set at like $7,500.00.

Can you imagine what must have happened to this guy? At least he sort of surrendered kind of asking for help instead of going to a local supermarket and opening fire on a Congressional representative like that jerk did in Arizona! God helps even stupid people (er … uh .. people who do stupid things!)… yep, like me … and him! Peace be still . . .

“The man (person) who never alters his opinion is like standing water, and breeds reptiles of the mind.” – William Blake

God, help me be open to new opinions – to things I had never thought of on my own. (TOUCHSTONES September 30th)

May we continue to count our blessings, show love for one another and … enjoy the weekend!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

