Ups and Downs . . .

Happy Friday, All!

Wondering what this weekend will bring … yet, T.G.I.F.! I have been to different places and enjoyed different cultures though there are others I would like to visit physically one day! I travel through literature and films but one of my favorite ways to travel is through music. I have been blessed enough to have been to places like Spain and Colombia, Canada and the Bahamas, even England for extended stays. The more I see and learn about other places, the more I want to experience the ambiance of other cultures and the people’s way of life.

Here recently, the most important journey I have discovered is the one within . . . We can go everywhere and experience everything, yet that place that is really “home” is deep within each of us. As we approach Father’s Day, I find myself on still another avenue of this journey within … peace be still. As a result, I would like to wish all those Fathers out there, many whom I know personally and are in this e-mail list who have done fantastic jobs at fatherhood, a Happy Father’s Day. In these moments surrounding this weekend’s celebration, I also remember how much of a fine role my mother played in highlighting my father’s role. I don’t know how many times I was told, “Go ask your father!” when I made a request to my mother who was often much more warm and tender while my Dad was still very supportive and flexible. So my hats go off to those of you . . . and you know who you are . . . who are having that fine experience of fatherhood and all that surrounds it and goes with it …. including the ups and downs!

“The loneliness each man feels is his hunger for life itself . . . . It is the yearning that makes fulfillment possible.” – Ross Mooney

In part, what kept me going and led me to this [program] was my hunger for life. I’m grateful for the friends who truly know me now, and still accept me. (June 17th, TOUCHSTONES)

Happy Father’s Day, Dads everywhere!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director
Educational Excellence
http://www.excelwitheducationalexcellence.wordpress.com
Ps. – A special “shout out” to those mothers who have played both roles in raising their children … super ladies, indeed!

Leave a Reply

