Be A Part of Something Great!

Happy Friday, All!

I always enjoy thinking, saying and feeling T.G.I.F.! Yesterday, I was a bit under the weather and decided to take a day off! Now I am not the kind who likes to be really ill before I take a break from routine because it always takes longer to get back into the swing of things. So, I called the floor manager at my workplace and chatted with him yesterday around 8AM to let him know how I was feeling. He agreed I should stay home since I am seldom sick nor take a day off from work. I was glad, went to pick up some cold/flu medicine and hunkered down at home to grilled cheese sandwiches, chicken soup and some tofu for my three meals. This morning, I am feeling great again!

Tomorrow, a friend of mine’s sister is having a book signing at the Museum of Modern Art here in FTL at the intersection of Las Olas and Andrews Avenue at 4PM. It will be held at “Books and Books”, which is inside the museum, and her name is Deon Davis. There will also be a Miami Herald journalist, Steve Rothaus; a poet; BOLT organizer and an anticipated evening of reading and fun. All proceeds are to go to BOLT, which is an organization dedicated to fighting HIV.

While I enjoy a lot of sports, I have been intrigued by the NBA Finals between the Dallas Mavericks and The Miami Heat. One of the things I enjoy most is seeing people be a part of something big. Cheering for a team and its players is almost like being there with them. Here of late, I have been studying the concept of chakras, along with Raj yoga and meditation to find ways to improve my life. I appreciate sitting and talking with someone, even texting or using Facebook, and Google to gain insight into this thing we are doing called “Life”. The more connected we are to something great, the better we feel about this journey we are all on. Share some kind words with a fellow human being today and be a part of something great!

Have a great weekend!

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director

Leave a Reply

