Let God Be God …

Hello Crew, yes … and as always for me … T.G.I.F.!

Right off the top, I want to thank each of you for being a part of this e-mail family! Those of you who know me best are aware of how it was born in conjunction with Educational Excellence. It originally started as a marketing tool for my motivational talks and two books … Then it progressed to a group of people I have kept in the loop of my own situations as well as a marketing tool for EE … And now it has expanded to become like a newsletter, probably like none you’ve ever received before … with that touch of “home”, so to speak. One of my good friends that I met since living here in South Florida “schooled me” on how to set up the blog. And … after years of teaching and traveling … and coupled with trials and tribulations, failures and successes … it has become a vehicle dedicated to spirituality, peace, love and anti-violence! Peace be still …

Well, Spring is in the air … and it is now cold in South Florida this morning! Imagine that! This weekend is the world renown “Calle Ocho” festival, which for me is comparable to “La Feria de Cali” that is held around Christmas time and includes a city-wide “horse parade” known as “La Cabalgata” in Cali, Colombia, South America. Both are festivals honoring the contributions of the hispanic community but “Calle Ocho” is in the USA – the melting pot of many many cultures, and people come from all over the world to celebrate. The food, the music, the dancing and singing … oh yeah … and drinking, consume the people in a barrio in Miami where resides one of the largest Latin American communities in this country. So, while an earthquake in Japan has caused a tsunami, a volcano erupts on one of the beautiful Hawaiian islands, and the celebration of Calle Ocho hits South Florida, let God be God … and embrace another season we observe called Spring!

“One must not hold one’s self so divine as to be unwilling occasionally to make improvements in one’s creations.” – Ludwig von Beethoven

“I will be content to let God be God and accept my life with all its need for improvements.” (TOUCHSTONES, March 11)

Peace,

John I. Cook, Director
Educational Excellence

Leave a Reply

