And Then There Were None …

Good Monday morning, All!  Citizens of the Universe … embrace love!
 
Oddly enough, last week was one of interesting news in the great nation known as The United States of America.  On one hand, a 53 year old homeless man is catapulted from homelessness to do important voice work for people on television and radio … maybe even Oprah Winfrey!  Then, just a few days later, a youngster decides, apparently after much contemplation and listening to tunes like, “All The Bodies Hit the Ground!”, decides to shoot a congresswoman and as many people as his sick depraved mind could hit at a supermarket “meet and greet” activity.
 
I don’t know about you, but there is often a clear display in life of “ying and yang”, good vs. evil … God vs. the Devil, if you will …  As I watched the newscast last night as it showed the innocent people who were killed, my heart cried and my eyes watered as I heard the story of the 9 year old girl who just wanted to know more about the political system.  She was killed and her parents suffer tremendously for her loss … Woe be to America … the land of the free and the home of the brave!
 
Now, again, I don’t have all the answers to anything … including things in my own life … my strained relationship with my own daughter, whom I will always love deeply … the challenges I face each day with health and work … sometimes even love!  Yet, as I sat at the beach yesterday with my best friend with whom I grew up with in White Plains … and his wife, I looked at them both and let them know that I appreciate their friendship.  Is is a far greater feeling to have, I presume, than to want to hurt someone, and I used to have those feelings periodically … especially if I felt someone had wronged me personally. It seems that we’ve got to find a way to reach these humans who are falling through the cracks of life directly into the hands of Satan!  Take a chance with me and do what you can to “Stop The Violence”!  Visit my blog, if you will!
 
“If you don’t take chances, you can’t do anything in life.”   – Michael Spinks
 
Today, let me see possibilities, and guide my inner sense of when to take a chance for growth.    TOUCHSTONES,  January 10
 
Peace be with each of you … Amen!

John I. CookRed rose, Director
Educational Excellence
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. John I. Cook
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 01:34:55

    You may or may not get replies to your emails, but I couldn’t resist. I’m not going to let the right wing off as easily as you apparently will. That “youngster” who committed the crimes didn’t go there on his own. His mind was broken by the hateful rhetoric of the Right, and then after it was broken, it was filled with visions of violence. You realize that Sarah Palin had a picture of Congresswoman Giffords, with the crosshairs of a gunsight over her image on her website, right? Giffords even commented on the dangerous nature of this kind of rhetoric. She had been warned, and security was up, all because Palin wanted her “eliminated”. Sure, we are only talking about the election, but then why was the election in November, and the picture didn’t get taken down until a couple of hours AFTER Giffords was shot? It’s obvious that the murderer is disturbed, but where does a mind so troubled get its direction? Directly from the Right Wing.

    I recognize that we all go through this journey called life in different ways. My blues ain’t yours, and so on…… Perhaps your life has led you to a mindset that blame is unnecessary. Whatever. I am not prepared to embrace these folks as you suggest. I prefer to identify and expose evil, so we may move onto love. It is simple to decide who deserves love; it’s the folks who have been practicing it!
    Lee Blair

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

